With a current population of over 500,000, and rapid westward expansion, Kane County’s transportation infrastructure is constantly being enhanced to accommodate growth. The 64 full-time employees of the Kane County Division of Transportation (KDOT) are responsible for the maintenance, planning, design and construction of approximately 320 miles of roadway. KDOT also provides technical assistance to the 16 townships and coordinates with a number of different State, regional, and local agencies on transportation and land use issues.